Emphasizing the Holiest Name of Maha Devi Bhagavati Suta Maha Muni addressed a congregation of Sages headed by Saunaka Muni at ‘Naimisaranya’, the Forest of Naimisa as the Kali Yuga had no access to that Sacred Place, since the ‘Manomaya Chakra’(The Wheel of Mental Illusion) created by Brahma occupied the entire World excepting the Naimisa Forest. The outer rim of the Wheel became thin and would stop rolling further and hence the Forest was chosen as the Sanctified one. The unfolding of the subject matter was that of Devi Bhagavata Purana, originally recited by Krishna Dvaipayana Maharshi Veda Vyasa, who described it as Maha Purana, elevating its status above the Eighteen Main Puranas, viz. Agni Purana, Bhagavata Purana, Bhavishya Purana, Brahma Purana, Brahmanda Purana, Brahma Vivarta Purana, Garuda Purana, Kurma Purana, Linga Purana, Matysa Purana, Markandeya Purana, Narada Purana, Padma Purana, Skanda Purana, Siva Purana, Vamana Purana, Varaha Purana, and Vishnu Purana. Maharshi Veda Vyas divided the Maha Purana of Devi Maha Bhagavata into Twelve ‘Skandas’ (Volumes) containing three hundred Chapters totalling eighteen thousand Stanzas.The Maha Purana describes how Devi Bhagavati, the Primeval Energy, empowered ‘Maha Purusha’tocreate the Universe. The five major Characteristics covered in the Purana are ‘Sarga’ (Creation of the Universe) by ‘Maha Purusha’or the Primeval Energy, ‘Prati Sarga’(Secondary Creation), Dynasties of Solar and Lunar Kings, ‘Manvantaras’ beginning from Swayambhu Manu and the subsequent Manus, and Portrayal of Manus and other Kings.

Sri V.D.N.Rao and Shri Kanchi Kamakoti Peetham presents the Essence of Puranas in English, condensed by Sri. V.D.N.Rao, devotee of Sri Kanchi Kamakoti Peetam. Compiled, Composed and Interpreted by V.D.N.Rao, Former General Manager, India Trade Promotion Organisation, Pragati Maidan, New Delhi Ministry of Commerce, Govt. of India The author can be contacted at