Emphasis on Dharma and Right Living

While the Golden Rule is that one should conduct daily life according to the dictates of one’s own interior conscience, it is most likely that such responses might, more often than not, either mislead or not clear owing to family, social or even self-imposed limitations. That is why the Set Regulations of ‘Srutis’ (Vedas), ‘Smritis’(Sastras), and Puranas should be the Best Guide to Dharma, as tempered with ‘Loukya’(Commonality) to the barest minimum possible. Indeed the Guidelines are determined by the Principle of ‘what traffic could bear’ or when one should not be considered as a complete oddity to the extent of social ostracization.

At the beginning of the day when one wakes up and prays the Almighty, an honest review of the previous day by way of Soul searching would indeed be an excellent barometer. While doing so, the best posture would be ‘Padmasana’ or squatting with right foot on the left lap and vice versa, chin down with tongue down the palate and perform ‘Pranayama’ practising ‘Dharana’ or holding the breath. Pranayama is of six types, viz. 

  1. Sadhuma (when breathing is unsteady),
  2. Nirdhuma (when breathing is somewhat controlled),
  3. Sagarbha (concentrated with Mantra),
  4. Agarbha (without Mantra),
  5. Lakshya (when a deity is targetted) and
  6. Alakshya (without a target).

Pranayama is the simple and ideal Yoga consisting of the Pranava Mantra OM (A+O+M), the three words eah word standing for Puraka, Kumbhaka and Rechaka respectively; in other words, use the Ida Nadi (pressing the left nostril), perform Puraka by counting A (Vishnu) thirty times and Kumbhaka O (Siva) sixty times; then Rechaka by the Pingala Nadi counting M (Brahma) by counting sixty times thus performing one Pranayama in full.

The next step is indeed arduous and is possible only through active assistance of an Expert Yoga Teacher. Once a few Pranayamas are performed like this, one could take up the action of ‘Shatchakra Bheda’ or perforating the six chakras (Plexuses) or the nerve centers or Lotuses through which the life forces pass viz. ‘Muladhara Chakra’ or half way between anus and linga mula (Sacral Plexus) with its Lotus having four petals, ‘Svadhishtana Chakra’ or Linga Mula (Prostrate Plexus) with its Lotus having six petals; Navel (Solar Plexus)-Manipura Chakra- with its Lotus having ten petals, Heart (Cardiac Plexus) -Anahata Chakra- with its Lotus having twelve petals, Throat or larengeal and pharengeal Plexus as Visuddha Chakra having its Lotus with sixteen petals; and Forehead (between the eyebrows) or the Carvenous Plexus named ‘Ajna Chakra’ with two petals of Lotus represented by the letters ‘hum’ and ‘ksham’ placed in opposite directions of the center, standing for Brahma. After breaking the Six Chakras, the Yogi seeks to carry the Kundalini Shakti to Brahma Grandha thus attaining Salvation.

The blessings and guidance of a Guru is a must to take up a life-venture as this. Also excellent control of various body parts is a pre-condition, besides strengthening mental regulation and that is possible through ‘Sadachara’ (Ideal Life style). Following ‘Varnashrama’ discipline especially among Brahmanas enables to adopt the required and conditioned life pattern!

Sri V.D.N.Rao and Shri Kanchi Kamakoti Peetham

Kamakoti.org presents the Essence of Puranas in English, condensed by Sri. V.D.N.Rao, devotee of Sri Kanchi Kamakoti Peetam. Compiled, Composed and Interpreted by V.D.N.Rao, Former General Manager, India Trade Promotion Organisation, Pragati Maidan, New Delhi Ministry of Commerce, Govt. of India The author can be contacted at raovdn@yahoo.co.in